Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Full face vs open face helmets
  • tuskaloosa
    Free Member

So there I was waiting for my train this morning, browsing through the MTB magazines and came across a section of fellow riders with some pretty darn serious injuries.. most of them facial due to OTB moments.

Now I don’t mind being called scarface and sometimes wear my injuries like a misplaced badge of honour.. but I wonder is it form vs function that we choose to ride some sections of trail where a full face would be more in order in case of a crash?

I recently started riding with one in my backpack, admittedly it does feel a bit stupid on some sections and also a pain to carry two helmets but have found it useful where i know i’m taking on something that is slightly out of my depth.

br
    Free Member

But try pedalling up a long hill in a FF…

HoratioHufnagel
    Free Member

You’re carrying both a full-face and a normal XC lid around? This has got to be a troll.

steve_b77
    Free Member

Doubt it’s a troll, considering the amount of people I saw with FF helmets @ Llandegla last weekend, some of them on 100mm XC hardtails too!!

PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

But try pedalling up a long hill in a FF…

This.

There are still lighter lids with face guards, but most seemed to have died a death.

There’s an element of horses-for-courses – if you’re uplifting all day or climbing 1000 vertical metres on fireroad before plummeting back down on singletrack, then wear a full face (and strap it to your sack for the climb). If you’re on rolling, undulating terrain or in traffic, then a full face is a terrible idea.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

You’re carrying both a full-face and a normal XC lid around? This has got to be a troll.