Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Fresh poured concrete pad…
  • elzorillo
    Free Member

I had a 40sqm concrete pad poured yesterday… Anyone know how long before I can walk on it? and more specifically.. how long before I can let a BIG horse walk on it??

Additionally.. When I do let the horse on it.. Would it be sensible to throw some woodshavings or sand etc on the concrete to temporarily protect it from the great oafs feet?

falkirk-mark

That is a question for whoever supplied the pour, normal stuff takes several days but in our work we get stuff that hardens pretty much overnight. (I am not a civil engineer)

perchypanther
    Free Member

how long before I can let a BIG horse walk on it??

Wait until it’s stable. 😉

jag61

a couple of days but get him to take his shoes off first

Pawsy_Bear
    Free Member

24hrs for 80% strength then 28 days fully set. Depends on type/mix assuming its compacted and reinforced.

Rubber_Buccaneer

I’d only tentatively tiptoe across it next day. The horse I’d leave for a few days, have you seen the mess they can make of a bridleway?

gobuchul
    Free Member

How did you resist writing your name in it?

Rubber_Buccaneer

Bet a cat walked across it before it set too

slowoldman

Depends on the strength and additives. Concrete has certainly come on in the 40 years since I was last involved in seeing it poured on site. It used to be covered in hessian and regularly sprayed with water for a day or two to prevent cracking. Watching a site over the road from our office this week they did a big pile cap pour and the next morning were walking around on it setting up formwork for the next lift.

Inbred456
    Free Member

Wouldn’t you normally put a shed load of straw down anyway to make it more comfy?
    Do horses only ever stand?
    Genuine question.
    I am not an equine expert!

Greybeard
    Free Member