Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Freelance – Difficult Client and who owns Image rights that I have created?
  • markshires
    Free Member

I wonder whether anyone could give me any advice regarding image rights to my work.

Basically I am a freelance 3D Artist, and have been for a number of years. However towards the back end of (Oct) 2013. I was approached by someone to create some designs for them, my contact details were passed onto them/him by a good client that I had done lots of work for without problem. Anyway the new client got me to do some work for them which was essentially take an existing car and add modifications to it, sort of like a body kit, I did a few of these modifications to basically show what I could do, but stopped working on it until I received a deposit (which has never come.)
    The original car model my existing model and all the information I received were images of different parts of cars (bumpers, exhausts etc) found on the web and I then merged them together to model a new car and render the image out so all my own work.
    This was all done over the phone as the guy was based in Australia, I never signed any contract or anything.

Anyway a few phone calls followed promising the money that never came, and eventually it fizzled out. Until just before Christmas this year. I had a few spare weeks so decided to update my website, came across the images of the cars that I had created and decided to put them on my portfolio website/facebook page. A couple of days later I got a really angry phone call from him(effing and Blinding) telling me that I was gonna get sued and taken to court for releasing the images. I told him that as he hadn’t paid for them they were my work so I owned the rights to do what I wanted. He didn’t agree stating that they were his ideas. In the end I agreed to take them down and give him 30 days to pay or else they would be put back up.