• This topic has 43 replies, 32 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by s1m0n.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • Fractured brake finger..how long off the bike??
  • discapade
    Free Member

Gutted (:0(

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

6 weeks . I am not a Doctor

ajantom

Brake with your middle finger?

crispyrice

2 to 4 weeks off the bike, 2 months off mountain biking, 3 months off downhill. For me anyway.

zero-cool
    Free Member

Greg Minnaar didn’t wait. Just taped it to the grip and rode.

I’d probably not suggest doing that though. What did they say in the fracture clinic? There’s quite a few things you can damage on fingers (nerves and tendons) if you don’t let it heal properly. But you’ll be back before the summer starts.

discapade
    Free Member

Cheers all..feeling a bit low as I have just built up a new ride ..I did it at work..had an op today and they removed my nail…it hurts so much, worse than childbirth I recon..lol

Brianblessed
    Free Member

until you can ride without it hurting so much you have to stop (codeine helps;-)

taxi25
    Free Member

How are you with pain ? Broke my ffinger during practise at a mx meeting. Left my glove on and taped it to the one nxt to it. Did the 3 races but it was sore the nxt day 8O. Had a couple of weeks of then back riding. Co-codamol is your friend.

patagonian
    Free Member

I’ve done this a number of times playing cricket. I assume they have strapped it to the adjacent finger? I always allowed 4-6 weeks.

YoGrant
    Free Member

MTFU and ride!

deadkenny
    Free Member

Did it couple years back along with couple of fingers on the other hand. 4 weeks back on the bike. Index finger in splint, just use middle finger instead. https://www.instagram.com/p/oonPJwleYF/