Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Formula RX brakes
  • glen815
    Free Member

Are the subject brakes any good or should I bung on some Hope X2 when I get my new wheels?
    I have heard of pad clearance issues and so on.

excitable1
    Free Member

I’ve been running RX’s on the FS for 2 years and SLX on the HT.

For stopping power the RX win every time. Amazing break you can constantly rely on. True they don’t have much disc to pad clearance compared to the SLX’s and subsequently the pads don’t last as long but the performance more than makes up for it IMO.

People I know with the Hope brakes have had some major issues which is disappointing given I know and trust everything else they do, but they could just be exceptions.

bowglie

I own/have owned 2 bikes with RX’s and haven’t been all that impressed with ’em TBH. Pad clearance is definately an issue if you do a lot of muddy and/or gritty rides. I’ve also found that their power can be a little inconsistent, which doesn’t appear to 100% cured by rebleeding – although saying this, I am a bit of a perfectionist anorak when it comes to consistent brake feel and power.

I think the RX’s may have a bit more outright power than the first generation Hope X2’s, but FWIR, Hope have modified the lever to increase power on the latest X2’s (I stand to be corrected on this).

From previous experience of Hopes, Formulas, Avids, Magura and Hayes, I’d go with the Hopes and just run ’em with larger rotors if you find they’re a little short on outright power.

HTH

fakesounding
    Free Member

Run RX’s on my enduro after binning the elixirs that came as stock, amazing consistent stopping power and no problems so far with them.

Kato

SOld my RX’s and replaced them with Hope X2 Evo’s. The RX’s were better IMO

Think I prefer an on/off brake, maybe the Hope’s have similar power but it seems like an age before it arrives

neninja
    Free Member

Have been running RX’s on my Helius for over 2 years with no issues.