Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • First time out with Sram double tap
  • tpbiker
    Free Member

First time out on my new winter trainer today, it came with Sram Apex. Now I know thats pretty low down the range, but who on earth willing buys Sram road gears over shimano. Its not the shifting thats the issue, its the double tap. Horrible, and one of the leavers kept getting trapped behind the bar instead of releasing.

I’m no shimano fan boy, I love sram grip shift on my mtb, but the road leavers just dfeel so less user friendly than shimano. Even my old soras with the switch on the hoods was easier to use!

aP
    Free Member

You get used to it quickly, if the levers are getting caught then you need to adjust the throw, or reach I can’t remember which.

mattbee

I hate it, my wife loves it. She’s never used anything else though whereas I graduated from down tube shifters to first Campag then Shimano integrated ones so I guess I’m just really used to them.
    SRAM stuff is quite light, if that’s any consolation.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

I’d rather have MicroShift over Sram.

timbur
    Free Member

I’d rather single speed!

EarlofBarnet
    Free Member

I have SRAM Apex on the winter bike and Shimano 105 on the summer bike. Initially I preferred the light shifting of the Shimano, but after a few months on the SRAM I quite like the positive click of the SRAM. Quite like how the brake lever doesn’t move either. It’d be interesting in trying something higher up the SRAM range now to see what it’s like.

aka_Gilo
    Free Member

I’ve always been a confirmed Campag man on my road bikes, but bought a cx bike with SRAM double tap a few years back and love it. If I was building up a new road or cross frame I’d probably go SRAM.

hjghg5
    Free Member

I hated it. The first time it needed maintenance I used it as an excuse to replace the whole groupset with ultegra.

butcher