• This topic has 36 replies, 30 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by scud.
Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • First road bike …. Where to start?
  • letmetalktomark

After 7 years living in East Anglia I have finally come to the conclusion a road bike is needed.

I’ve tried adapting a couple of offroad bikes but they have always felt too much of a compromise.

I’ve no experience of road bikes bar a 5 minute pootle around the block on a mates.

I’m guessing more gets you more with regards to ££.

I’m a steel Luddite at heart with all of my offroad bikes being made of the stuff but appreciate in the road bike world alloy and carbon are king(s).

So where to start?

Budget is TBC based upon whether its worth buying a good one from the off that won’t need a huge amount of upgrading etc.

Happy to go down the second hand route/ self build especially as I already have some midge bars 😉

jkomo

Second hand all the way.

variflex
    Free Member

^ as above or do what I did and get a cheap bike (eg lower end components) but with a good frame which will last on 0% finance. Mine is now a year old so paid off, and once the parts start to wear out I can upgrade. So went for a bottom of the range Spec Allez with Sora and will upgrade next year with 105 11 speed. Have already upgraded the wheels which has really helped.

Worth demo’ing road bikes as the position and comfort varies alot between bikes unlike MTB’s.

tthew

Genesis make some nice steel road bikes. From £900 to 😯 😯 😯 HOW MUCH!
    To be honest you’ll get much higher spec/price from an aluminium or carbon bike, but I know exactly what you mean about steel push rods. I’m really fond of my DayOne. Below is that 😯 😯 😯 bike.

garage-dweller

Make sure it fits properly and take the time to get your position right.

I have a cheap (£600) bianchi which is much improved for £200 worth of better wheels and £50 worth of tyres.

Make of that what you will…

TiRed