Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • First road bike advice
  • bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

Been offered a Raleigh Airlite 100 I think it’s a 2009 or 10 one in white. Bloke wants £130 for it. Any cop or not?

munrobiker
    Free Member

If you want to hate road bikes forever, go for it.

Avoid like the plague- down tube shifters are terrifying for a beginner. Also I don’t know where they got the “lite” from- it’s heavier than my mountain bike by quite a bit. A truly hideous bike. When I worked in a shop we got sent one of these on sale or return from Raleigh to see what reception it got- we felt guilty when we sold it to someone.

I’d hold out for something a bit dearer but nicer from a “proper” road bike manufacturer like a Giant SCR/Defy, Specialized Allez or Trek 1000/1200 or 1.2/1.5.

bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

So crap then basically. Not sure if I’ll like road cycling but wouldn’t mind trying.

munrobiker
    Free Member
    bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

Not sure what frame size I am. I’m 5ft 10.

munrobiker
    Free Member

A bit of a minefield that- it depends on the manufacturer.

As a rough guide my experience (I’m 5’10”) you’ll need-

Giant- Medium or Large (borderline on this).
    Most companies that use centimetres you’ll be a 56cm, possibly a 58 in some brands but not many.

bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

Probably better trying some. Didn’t want to spend mega money incase I don’t like it. I’m just intrigued by the idea when watching on tv and browsing the odd magazine. And as something to help strengthen my leg muscles as I’m awaiting microfracture surgery for cartilage damage. And for recovery from that when I’m allowed.

monksie
    Free Member

neilm
    Free Member

I bought / built my first ever road bike last autumn and I really enjoy road riding, it adds a whole new dimension to my offroad riding as well as the benefits of additional strength and stamina (which is why I started).