Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • First carbon road bike sub £1500?
  • 29erss
    Free Member

Hi,

I looking for my first road bike, preferably carbon sub £1500 with decent enough kit. I ride a 29er currently but commute to work on the road.

The bikes ive been looking at are
    Trek Madone 3.1C 2012 Cheapest£1450
    Trek Madone 4.5C 2011 Cheapest ive seen is Chevin Cycles they have this reduced from £1850 to £1199 Link
    Specialized Tarmac Elite SL2 ’11 – Edinburgh Cycles have this reduced from £1649 to £1399 Link /

What are people experience with the lower end Trek carbons? The 4.5 Madone seems cheap?

Thanks

wwaswas

Have a look at Planet-x – great value.

and Canyon.

I’ve no experience with the bikes you mention.

b17
    Free Member

Just got a Decathlon Facet 3 full carbon job for under 1000 EUR, so you could even have some budget left over. I’m very pleased with it so far.

decathlon facet 3

TheFlyingOx

I’ve heard the Planet X ones are a bit “squidgy” on account of the glue:carbon ratio. Might be hogwash, but I’d want to try one before splashing the cash.

Have a look at a Vitus Dark Plasma VR, maybe? Or a Felt F5?

ojom
    Free Member

Worth keeping this http://www.thebikechain.co.uk/Cube-Agree-GTC-Triple-56-20110901070211/ in mind.

We have (like all Cube dealers i would imagine) gone pretty heavy on the pre-orders for these as we have been informed the qty of these will be severely limited for 2012.

We probably wont see all we have ordered either.

Looking like a standout bargain – it’s a seriously good frame.

druidh
    Free Member

I’ll back up the Cube GTC Agree as an option. I replaced my Focus Cayo with one after having a test ride. I couldn’t believe just how much more comfortable it was.

The-Swedish-Chef
    Free Member

By all accounts the 2012 Trek’s will be very well priced, I think there was a Madone frame with 105 for 1500, as well as an Ali with Ultegra in the same range.