Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Finding Folding Bike Exhausting – help!!
  • davys
    Free Member

I have been cycling for many years and recently bought a 16″ aluminium-framed folding bike. I read the reviews and chosen a very nice bike that looks well-made. See here
    But whereas my mountain bike will cruise up gentle slopes this folding bike almost comes to a stop and my thighs are painful. It is a struggle to do more than about a mile.
    The bike is set up carefully for my leg and the saddle position is good. It has a 6-speed Shimano derailer.
    Apart from the smaller wheels, the folding bike has smaller cranks (15cm versus 17cm) but one site that I have looked at recommends 15cm cranks for my 5ft 9″ height.

Is my experience normal? Anybody any suggestion as to what might be the problem?

mickolas
    Free Member

I’d be suspicious of those short crankarms. doesn’t sound very ergonomic to me. but the next thing I would look closely at would be tyres and pressures. betting the standard ones aren’t much cop. would imagine that the pressures would want to be higher than an mtb tyre of similar width to keep the ratio of contact patch length to radius. schwalbe have an excellent document on all things technical related to tyres on their website.

bencooper
    Free Member

To put it politely, the problem is you bought a FBSO, not a real folding bike 😉

You could maybe get slightly better performance with better tyres, but I doubt it – best bin it and get a decent Brompton, Birdy or Dahon.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    TiRed

Move the saddle back so you can get your knee over the pedal axle at 90 degrees. Change the tyres to Brompton 16″ and pump them up to about 5 bar.

Tyres always make a huge difference and are skimped on at almost all price points

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member