Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Filling in a job application. Any advice from HR types please ?
  • I really don’t know what to write in these things.
    I know that if it was down to a practical test, I’d pass easily, but I never seem to be able to put that in writing.

I’m applying for a job as an HGV mechanic in a council yard.

To the question;

Please explain how your skills, abilities , experience and achievements to date(including leisure and voluntary) would make you a suitable candidate for this post. Please refer to the criteria on the person specification.

I have written;

I have several years experience of inspecting, servicing and maintaining commercial vehicles, public service vehicles and plant.
    I am confident with diagnosing and repairing electrical, hydraulic and pneumatic faults.
    I am a skilled welder.
    I hold an HGV category C+E licence
    I am confident with using IT and electronic diagnostics.
    I am used to working late and early shifts and am flexible in meeting workload requirements.
    I am adaptable and enjoy learning new skills.

I compete in mountain bike orienteering events and endurance racing. I am physically fit and enjoy the combination of physical and mental challenge.

Does that sound good ?

geoffj

That all sounds a bit generic that could be made up. Give specifics and where possible refer directly to the criteria in the job spec e.g.

Criterion = Ability to weld
    Your comment = I’ve got x years experience using ocxy/acetelene / tig / mig equipment to repair chassis and bodywork…..

Any use?

Junkyard
    Free Member

The role profile will include what they list as essential for the job MAKE SURE YOU POUT DOWN EVERY SINGLE POINT THEY LIST AS ESSENTIAL WITH EVIDENCE
    I would advise putting down most of the desirable as well tbh
    In the role profile/person specification it will also say what they will be looking for in the application form- next to the criteria usually