Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Evil the following
  • shasell
    Free Member

So I’m looking into getting an evil following frame and then building the bike up, as there are some really good deals on components. I am wondering what fork to put on it. I have looked at the bikes that come as complete builds and they all seem to have 130mm forks but have noticed a few posts online referring to 140mm forks.

Has anyone who’s got an evil following help out? Or anyone that has built one give me any tips? I’ve never built a bike before so going in a bit blind…

Thanks

snooze
    Free Member

I built up a Following about 20 months ago. It was my first ever build too. I got the shop to fit the press fit BB, as I don‘t have press fit tools and wanted to minimise the possibility of a creaking BB rather than bodge it. After that did it myself including the Invisiframe. Most of the jobs I had done before to some degree when maintaining/upgrading earlier bikes. Before fitting each part I read through any instructions/magazine articles and watched any videos I could find on Youtube. There’s loads of stuff mostly from GMBN, MBR and Bike Radar. I also did the work steadily over 5 days rather than rush it in one go.

I went with a 130mm Pike RT3, with the recommended 51mm offset and 5 tokens. The drive train and brakes are XT M8000, reverb stealth, Race Face Next SL cockpit and I transferred a set of Roval Traverse Fattie carbon wheels from my old bike. If I was building the bike now I might be tempted by the new SRAM GX 12 speed drive train and SRAM Guide Ultimate brakes

I run the bike in the Low setting, which is plenty slack enough with the 130 fork and I have never been tempted to increase the travel. I considered a 140 fork when planning the build, but Evil only state geometries for 120 and 130 (even though saying 140 can be used) and I was a bit concerned about unbalancing the bike with 120 at the back and 140 at the front.