• This topic has 49 replies, 31 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by benp1.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 50 total)
  • 'Enduro' Riders / Racers – Is this a bum bag?
  • corundum
    Free Member

Photo of Miranda Miller 1/3 down the page – looks suspiciously like a bum bag (or for you americans out there a ‘fanny pack’) under the jersey. Or incredibly over stuffed pockets on a pocketed base layer or jersey?

http://www.pinkbike.com/news/race-day-two-ews-round-8-finale-ligure-italy.html

Curious as when glancing through these enduro photo montage’s very few riders seem to bother with a pack, some don’t even have a bottle on the bike. Now i’m no pro, but i do get a thirst on if riding hard, now some of the climbs these guys are doing on bikes that a more descent than ascent would have you gasping for a drink in that heat. Plus trail tools, spares for the inevitable puncture, blown chain etc?

Am i missing something?

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Sponsored by Spesh, so probably a SWAT vest/bibs.

SirHC

Specialized swat bibs: https://www.specialized.com/us/en/apparel/mountain-liner-pro-bib-shorts-with-swat/114219

The enduro/stumpjumper has a storage compartment inside the downtube. You can stash quite a lot of spares/tools on your bike.

The EWS has food/water stops at the ends/starts of the stages, so the riders arn’t having to be completely self sufficient for a days riding.

Paul@RTW
    Free Member

Yep, SWAT clothing. I got the bibs when they were on offer at Cyclesport. Really useful, nice bit of kit.

akira

I’ve got a morvelo base layer that has pockets, quite useful for shorter rides.

corundum
    Free Member

Ah okay, makes sense I guess. Those bibs look neat, although she seems to have a fair amount of kit stashed in bib-short pockets. I suppose manufacturers want there logos visible on the jerseys so riders tend to steer away from the packs as a sponsor coverage thing and personal comfort.