Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • endurance training in the gym advice
  • evade
    Free Member

Hey all. I'm after some advice re my gym prog…

I'm a novice MTBer (one year in the saddle, getting out amongst it every two weeks on average, but stepping up to every week for the last couple of months – loving it!). I used to be right old couchy, but now my overall stamina is getting better, climbing too, but still a very long way from where I'd like it to be, and that's what I want to fix over the winter.

I have a gym at work and I've been going for an hour every lunchtime but have only very recently started spending long period on the exercise bike and really pushing myself. The other thing to say is that my legs are dead skinny and I'm sure that doesn't help with long climbs. I've started necking a couple of protein shakes each day after the gym/riding in order to build some muscle size/strength. This was on advice of someone who I trust, but I'm on the fence about whether it's done anything yet..

But the main question is what I should be doing in the gym to help these skinny pins of mine. Should I just stick on the bike the whole time? I've been doing 30 min hard hill climb progs which are really pushing my thighs, followed by 20mins light weights and a stretch. Should I aim for more? Every day, or should I have a day off? Any other good things to do? Should I be doing squats (I read somewhere not, but I can't think why that would be a bad idea), or using the thigh machine? Should I do calf raises? Should I just do cardio and forget weights? I can't have another summer being last up the hill, it's killing me 🙄

Any thoughts much appreciated.

Cheers
    Evade

brooess
    Free Member