Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Employment Law question .. !?
  • nixon_fiend
    Free Member

I dunno if there are any legal eagles about who could offer an opinion on my dilemma.

Basically, I work in Sales for a company that offers a commission scheme on top of the basic wage, For the first 3 months of my employment (probationary period) the commission is set at a low rate .. afterwards it doubles to the standard rate. It has come to my attention that after 18 months with the company my commission wasn't increased (mistake in HR) so for the last 15 months I've been paid half the commission I'm owed. I got a very blase email through after my query stating that my commission will now be adjusted but NOT back-paid. Which is a bit off. I looked at my contract only to discover the terms described as "£xxx p.a + commission" with no mention of percentage figures – so I can't really use it to back up my case.

Do I have a leg to stand on legally? Or should I let sleeping dogs lie (although it is a lot of money!)

cheers for any advice 🙂

dave.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I would guess its a case worth making but will not be straight forward. Of course if you were a union member they would pursue it for you. You will need expert advice however – law centre or CAB perhaps?

You can have things that are outside of your written contract being binding and enforceable under some circumstances. Get as much info together as possible, get real advice then perhaps a letter to HR stating your entitlement and see if they will settle?

How much do you want to upset your employer?

jam-bo

surely a savvy salesman would have worked out that you werent getting the commission you were due….

nixon_fiend
    Free Member

Cheers for the input TJ. I'm not trying to piss em off, but it seems a bit cheeky when I pay for their mistakes without recompense.

Obviously I'm not a savvy salesman 😉

rs
    Free Member