Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Employment law and redundancy help..
  • cloudnine
    Free Member

Just wondered if anyone could offer any advice… useful or just amusing.
    I’ve been working in my current job for 8 years and don’t have a contract. I get the feeling my boss is trying to sell the business. If they sold it should I get redundancy even if I was offered the same position but with the new owner. Also, I’ve never had a proper lunch break.. I get to eat but never had a proper 20/30 minute break away from work. Does my employer technically owe me payment for 1840 lunch breaks I’ve never had?

kevster
    Free Member

Interesting subject, one that may soon apply to me. I will be ringing ACAS over the next few days. I’ve worked here for 10 years and don’t want to lose out on redundancy eligibility for something like that. Think the lunch break option is a no goer though!

DrRSwank
    Free Member

The selling of a company doesn’t automatically entitle you to a redundancy pay out. If the job is the same and your benefits are not downwardly effected then there’s no reason why redundancy would apply.

HOWEVER, make sure they don’t issue you with a new contract under the new companies name. If they do make sure it has a continuity of service clause otherwise you’ll lose the 8 years entitlement you’ve currently got.

Contract is not needed to bring redundancy claims – you just need to be able to prove they’ve been paying you.

And it is your responsibility as an employee to take lunch breaks – so your employer is not liable.

Having said all of that I might not be right so go and talk to the friendly people at Citizens Advice…..

gonefishin
    Free Member

If they sold it should I get redundancy even if I was offered the same position but with the new owner