Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 70 total)
  • Employers having a laugh
  • singletrackmind

Got a new General Manager at work as we were pretty much rudderless for the last 2 years.
    As soon as he became GM ( was day book keeper ) all of my 11 years of experience count for zilch, and all his previous 4 years of knowledge seem to have disappeared.

We have been given new contracts of employment. If signed we would be liable to work weekends as and when asked to , for free ( we do now but its totally voluntary and earns us zero pay but we count it as ‘hours’) .
    We would be liable to work Bank holidays , with no overtime payment or time off in lieu. We would also be liable for basically unlimited overtime as required, for no extra pay or again no time off in lieu. Our hours and place of work can also be changed at a whim.

Sick pay has been discretionary . Its now SSP only, but I work in the food industry and we are not supposed to work with even a cold. His arguement is ‘Its costing the business too much money’ but we have never employed a temp when a member of staff has been off sick. Other staff member have to pick up the slack.

Pensions . Basic minimum only , no allowance for employee extra contributions ( which have to be matched by the employer ) and brought in on the last day possible next year. We’re all in.

The new contract also has a clause that our employment can be ended by the employer with no notice. Nice.

Small business with 5 employees ,, no HR dept or Union. I like the job but this is totally against the way we have been working for the last decade. Everyone works fairly hard and there are no slackers or dead wood. People put in the hours and there has been a degree of flexability, with the understanding extra hours or BH working could been taken as time owed when quiet.