Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Embarrassed to admit it, but …
  • flanagaj
    Free Member

I graduated with a 1:1 Chem degree 20 years ago and have forgotten so much of my chemistry and maths that I can’t help my daughter with her GCSE higher paper revision 🙁

Anyone else been in the same position?

Onzadog
    Free Member

Yep, use it or lose it.

stumpyjon

Yep, but I got a 2:2 and should have done engineering instead which I might have enjoyed and still be using. It’s 25 years for me.

theotherjonv

Largely the same here, except I got a 2:1 and it was slightly longer.

Somewhat more embarrassingly, I still work in the chemical industry. I know my area pretty well, but get me onto ‘general’ chemistry and I’m lost. Diels-Alder – what? Grignard reagents – eh? Lewis bases – are you sure?

flanagaj
    Free Member

I’ll be honest and say I feel really stupid. I had a flick through the revision guide and said to my daughter “Oh, I can do that question” and she replies. “Dad, that’s level 4, you get a Grade D/C for that” the A and A* questions are another level! (for me anyway)

jimdubleyou

If you can explain what a Mole is, you’ll be doing a better job than my chemistry teacher!

I got a 2:2 in Electronic Engineering – There’s loads of analogue electronics that I would have a hard time regurgitating, but I use fair bit of the other stuff in my day to day (without really thinking about it).

Not sure my boolean algebra is any good these days though.

allan23
    Free Member

23 years since graduating in Chemistry and 19 years this summer since I did any lab work.

Salary was utter sh!t, loved the work though. Never found any job as interesting in IT as the ones I had in the lab.
    Can’t remember half of what I studied in Chemistry, in 19 years of IT, there’s a hell of a lot of that that’s fallen out of my head too.

fanatic278
    Free Member

Got an A* in maths GCSE. An A in maths A level. Studied higher maths during my engineering degree.