Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Ebay – what do you think to the following message I've received?
  • brooess
    Free Member

See below. He’s right, I’m new to selling on ebay.
    I’m shifting some hifi speakers – for which postage is likely to be c£20 and I’ve had numerous requests for collection/delivery face to face – clearly trying to lower the price by avoiding postage which I can understand.
    I’ve refused on the basis I lose Seller’s Rights + at the top of all messages is the following from ebay. I also don’t want randoms coming round to my house.
    ‘Do not respond to the sender if this message requests that you complete the transaction outside of eBay. This type of offer is against eBay policy, may be fraudulent, and is not covered by buyer protection programs’
    One guy’s response is:
    Your loss….
    I have collected over 300 times before without any problems and never heard of “sellers rights”being an issue.
    If you would rather give your money to the Post Office, then I guess it’s your choice.
    There is however the greater risk of damage and missing goods.
    I notice that you seem to be a new user and I would ventutre to offer some advice regarding collection and posting.
    Do not accept paypal payment for goods being collected as there have been instances of people claiming non-delivery and a refund for collected items.
    Always use recorded delivery for any high cost items posted.

Personally I’d believe ebay over a random unknown…

greeble
    Free Member

You’re being over cautious so I suggest… leave auction run its course. if the winner is local then arrange to meet a mutal public location person inspects item and hands over cash simples.
    tbh it is your loss. I’ve picked up stuff alot of times from sellers on ebay and had some great bargins that way.

Dickyboy