Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Easy ride around Dorking?
  • spaniardclimber
    Free Member

Hi all,
    I’m heading for the first time to Surrey Hills and need some advice from the locals.

I’m going with a friend that is new to mountain biking (and I’m new to that area). We plan on getting by train to Dorking, rent the bikes there and head to Surrey Hills for a 2-3h not too technical and easy to follow ride.
    Any suggestions?

Hopefully this will be the first of many rides there!

Thanks.

atlaz
    Free Member

All the usual stuff around Leith Hill I’d say

nuke

Tricky as if you don’t know the area, you can lose a lot of time on navigation. Id say head out from dorking on route 22, head south before Abinger on BW that comes out at Volunteer pub, head up to holmbury summit, do barry knows best, head in to pealake for nibbles, head back to holmbury summit and do yoghurt pots & telegraph row, then head up to leith hill tower and do summer lightening full length, then use Wolverns lane to get back to westcott, on to Dorking. Might take longer than 2-3hours if you’re not familiar though.

Chat with folk on bikes if you see them for other harder to find trails.

Conversely, just get guided by Flowtastic 🙂

spaniardclimber
    Free Member

Hi,
    Thanks for the replies! A local rider has offered to show us around, we’ll start from Pedalandspoke shop.
    It’s quite a long journey by train to Gomshall, but sure it will be worth it!

mattjg
    Free Member

The train ride from Dorks to Gomshall is pretty, regard it as part of the ride. In fact everything past Leatherhead is nice, if you’re coming that way. Have a good one, Surrey Hills is a gem.

spaniardclimber
    Free Member

Loved the place!
    The guy was a bit crazy (in the good sense), he took us through quite difficult downhills, but I just walked them without problem, all in all plenty of fun.