Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • earnings as a music tutor, anyone do it?
  • timdrayton
    Free Member

looking to retrain, wondered if anyone does music tutoring at home/travelling ie not in school, and what qualifications are needed, and what hourly rate, pa earnings i can expect?

+ any pitfalls things i should know about?

I would be looking at brass instruments, and guitar, classical and steel string acoustic, not electric.

Smee
    Free Member

Sister inlaw teaches piano, cello and guitar – charges £40 per lesson and is fairly busy in the Edinburgh area. Pitfalls – she says it can be a bit like being a social worker. She has a music degree and a long work history as a session musician.

bruneep

Son guitar teacher charges £20 per hr in Aberdeen

guitarhero
    Free Member

£20 per hour is too cheap. I'm a professional guitar teacher, but getting the f++k out of it because too many people are underselling what is a highly skilled service. Pisses me right off, you couldn't get your toilet fixed for £20 an hour.

rob1984p
    Free Member

but a toilet is an essential

timdrayton
    Free Member

cheers all, i'll have a music degree by the time i start work, i was grade 8 practical standard on the cornet/trumpett but less so on the music theory side, is it worth doing the grade 8 theory stuff in addition to the degree?

guitarhero
    Free Member

Rob, you've kind of missed the point, but thanks for your contribution. 🙄

rob1984p
    Free Member

Really? I just re-read your post and it certainly seems that you are suggesting a teacher of a past time is worth more than someone who provides an essential service.

cyclelife
    Free Member