Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Droppers… how to route on a santa cruz, or option for underseat levers.
  • scrumfled
    Free Member

OK, I’ll admit, Im ‘dropper curious’.

I’ve got a santa cruz superlight, which doesnt have any routing for a seatpost, looks like this (only less shiny and more shite covered)

)

As i understand it my options are to drill a hole in the downtube (ouch!) or go with an underseat lever. So what available/good/worth looking at?

yorkshire89
    Free Member

You could just get a non-stealth version with an external hose?

mos

Don’t suppose you want a SH one do you? 31.6, 100mm drop?

momo

Run an external one and cable tie the hose/outer to the brake line, that’s what I did on my blur anyway.

scrumfled
    Free Member

@yorkshire, yes, also an option…. Im new to the whole dropper thingy, hence looking for recommendations 🙂

@mos, 30.9 seatpost on my lump….

canopy
    Free Member

As i understand it my options are to drill a hole in the downtube (ouch!) or go with an underseat lever. So what available/good/worth looking at?

not at all. as i have a superlight.. with a dropper..

just put the lever on your handlebars and run it to the dropper using hte existing cable guides. i basically piggy backed mine along the same route as the rear brake cable, and front mech cable.

had to dig out the post, but i put pictures of mine up recently.. (click to enlarge)

bowglie

Mrs B has a Superlight with reverb dropper and the hose is routed externally under the top tube – runs in the space between the shock mount, above the shock. Frame she’s got is a fairly recent one, so has hose guides fitted as standard, but you can get stick on hose/cable guides that work well (the ones with the zip ties are much better than the ones that come with cable clips – as the latter just fall off with the slightest knock).
    ….or just piggy back the hose cable, as canopy has done.
    HTH