Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Drinking and taking metronidazole, am I doomed?
  • FunkyDunc
    Free Member

I had been warned not to drink alcohol whilst taking the above antibiotic, however tonight I completely forgot and had 1 glass of G&T. I don’t normally drink much as it is !

Am I going to die? It’s been about 1hr since I drank it and no ill effects yet.

When will the severe flushing, dizziness, nausea & vomiting, irregular heartbeat, headaches, breathlessness all start ???

mattyfez

I’m no doctor, but I’d guess drinking to any extent could lessen the effect of the antibiotics. I doubt a cheeky drink would make any difference.

Also it will give you AIDS! The really bad kind.. Arse AIDS!

scaredypants

The interaction between metronidazole and alcohol “probably” exists but is generally mild or even unnoticeable

Yes, you may feel a bit flushed, maybe a bit sick and just possibly your heart might flutter as though you’d just seen your birthday present being unloaded in a big box from a bikeshop van

but probably nowt, especially if it was a single pub measure of gin

Edit:

Here we go, one I nicked from an online textbook (4 years) earlier

(IMO, it’s so well known among health care workers that we get quite a lot of confirmation bias and again IMO, probably only really see it in folk who’ve had a proper skinful – that said, note at least 1 fatality has been attributed to it)