Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Downgrading job
  • mikey74
    Free Member

I’m toying with the idea of changing to a less senior job in order to focus on my part-time studies a bit more: I’m currently a senior architectural technician.

I could just become a CAD tech, or something else, but it does have the potential to be a frying pan to fire-type scenario

Has anyone done this, or something similar?

somouk
    Free Member

Would it be an option to drop to a 4 day week in the same role? Either by working longer hours every other day or taking the pay cut?

deadkenny
    Free Member

Freelance?

Has kept me out of inevitable management roles for ages whereas I’d be forced into them as a permanent employee software developer that isn’t young and cheap. I keep doing the techy jobs but get paid more for it 😀

And it can be more flexible.

Though less security, in theory. Depends how secure your existing job is anyway.

plyphon
    Free Member

Job security doesnt really exist in 2017 anyway.

sweaman2
    Free Member

Would a less senior job actually be less work? In theory you’d still be working the same hours unless you’re implying that the more senior role requires extra hours – i.e working in evenings or similar.

mikey74
    Free Member

Would a less senior job actually be less work? In theory you’d still be working the same hours unless you’re implying that the more senior role requires extra hours – i.e working in evenings or similar.

I generally mean less responsibility, rather than less hours.

sweaman2
    Free Member

At the risk of being a pain then how does less responsibility and not less time give you the opportunity to focus more on part time studies? Unless it’s just not stressing about things in the evening etc.

goldfish24

What are the responsibilities you’d rather avoid? Is there a management aspect that’s taxing?