Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • "Down Grading" to a Compact Camera
  • Warrenpfo
    Free Member

Over the past 4 years I have built up a small kit list comprising of:

Canon 20D
    Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM Lens
    Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens
    Canon Speedlite 580EX Flash

Couple of bags, Filters etc…..

In the past 2 years I have pulled it all out of the cupboard 3 times to use other wise use the wife’s point and shoot most of the time due to the hassle of carrying a bulky/heavy camera around.

Has anyone else decided to sell all up and get a good quality point and shoot?

If so what if anything do you miss about having an SLR because all i can think of is the range in lens choice but other wise I am no professional and am not planning on making a living out of photography so think this may be a good move as you can get some very nice compact that I would use then a lot more.

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

never!

mocha
    Free Member

you looked at something like a Panasonic GF1? almost compact…

matt_outandabout

My father sister in law (semi pro photographer) uses her Canon G7 as much as her DSLR's and waaaay more than her large format camera.
    Father in law has a G9, and that is what I will buy when I have the cash.

Warrenpfo
    Free Member

I just figured that I like to take photos and if I sell my gear I should have the cash to buy a good compact and then some spare cash towards the carbon nomad

stevemorg2

I got rid of my Minolta/Sony DSLR kit and bought a Canon G9 instead. I use it a lot more and I haven't seen a great deal of difference in the pictures I take.
    I miss he zoom range sometimes and I have to be a aware of the sight shutter lag but I don't think I'd go back to a full size DSLR kit (though the GF1 looks nice!)

ampthill

If your not using it then your not using it. The lenses are worth real money so yes sell up