Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Do youngsters care about music anymore?
  • zippykona

I started buying records when I was 7.
    Was a huge Gary Glitter fan, my brother was into Sweet and Mud. Pictures all over our walls, that thrill when “our” group got to number one.
    A friends 9 year old said he wanted an iPod for Christmas. I got all excited but then realised he only wanted it for games.
    I’m not expecting them to be into King Crimson but just to show some interest in a particular band would be good.
    Parents….over to you.

Tom-B
    Free Member

Yes, yes they do. Going out and buying music isn’t something that too many youngsters seem to do nowadays ime (I’m a guitar teacher in a number of schools) but it’s still a huge part of lots of kids lifes. Age nine is a bit young ime though.

mikey74
    Free Member

Was a huge Gary Glitter fan

I have a feeling this thread isn’t going to end well.

From what I have seen, if the parents are into music, then the children will be too. I do know loads of families where the children are into music.

mattyd
    Free Member

My kids love music. My 14 year old lad is into The Beatles, Stones, Hendrix and Pink Floyd, and more recently, Gary Clark Jr.
    I took him to see the Black Keys last year – he loved it and it was a huge pleasure to be with him at his first big gig.
    He properly loves his music, and plays piano, a bit of guitar and got a sax for Christmas.
    He also does the video gaming and skateboarding that his friends do, but music would be the very last thing he would give up.

cinnamon_girl

Do we have music any more? 😉

Ma boy (late 20’s) saw Black Sabbath the other week. I saw them twice in the 70’s.

cbmotorsport
    Free Member

Music is almost disposable these days. I used to buy albums on sight and persevere with them, often finding the ones I didn’t like a lot at first where by far the best in the long run. Kids today just preview, download, delete.