Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 68 total)
  • Do you find it hard to settle down because of your hobbies?
  • michaelmcc
    Free Member

Or another way of putting it, are many STW’ers here married? I’ve always been a big outdoor person, I’m a ski instructor so spend anything from a few weeks to a few months away teaching. Also with travelling to the odd mountain bike race etc, I think my lifestyle might put a lot of girls off that just want to settle down, and have kids etc. All the mud and dirty clothes about the place must be a bit off putting for some girls too 😉 , not to mention the constant will/need to get a new bike or bike parts. Just out of a break up so my heads a bit up in the clouds at the mo.

Surely I’m not the only one like this though? 😐 .. Guessing there’s lots more of you out there similar to me anyway! 🙂

lazybike
    Free Member

No….hth 🙂

The right one’s out there…have fun searching.

fervouredimage
    Free Member

As lazybike said, the right one is out there. Either that or I’m very lucky. My wife shares my enthusiasm for all things outdoor- biking, motocross,snowboarding, kayaking etc. she wouldn’t have it any other way.

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

I was watching ‘take me out’ last night and every time one of the fellas mentioned that he liked doing outdoorsy type stuff (cycling, climbing, hiking etc.) a significant number of the girls turned their lights out.

It’s hardly a scientifically robust study but it was pretty clear that a lot of women think activities that involve exercise and/or the outdoors are not an attractive hobby for a potential boyfriend.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Me and the mrs have similar hobbies – different veins though – shes a roadie im more mtb . She has been known to win the odd mtb race though.

Does mean we are not in each other pockets all the time – eg this morning we got up ate breakfast together and i went off mtbin she went and met the local womans chaingang for a ride