Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • "Do Not Disasemble"
  • JonR
    Free Member

yells the warning on the side of the cups on my hollowtech BB. The only problem with that is the illegitimate child of a thing stuck tighter than a yorkshire man's grip on his wallet.

I'm pretty new to the world of BBs if truth be known so is there a quick fix such as washing the thing out with have a can of GT85 or is simply time to put up a wanted as on the classifieds forum as it's well and truly fornicated.

thomthumb
    Free Member

if its stuck its too late really. get the bearings replaced with decent quality ones.

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

isn't that like those "No cycling" signs which are an unintended invitation?

JonR
    Free Member

isn't that like those "No cycling" signs which are an unintended invitation?

To be honest when I first noticed it I thought

I guess if it is shot then there is no harm in it.

freeganbikefascist
    Free Member

sounds like a red rag to a bull

you can swap out the cartridge bearings in HT2 BB cups which is cheaper than buying new units (although I've never bothered) but if they're shot they're shot, I've never heard of reconditioning them (successfully)

Olly
    Free Member

they make them so they are a one way seal.
    once its out, its not going back in.

Bite the bullet, buy a hope replacement, and then just buy the bearings instead of buying a whole new BB.

paulrockliffe
    Free Member

The thing is that when you disasemble it it is virtually impossible to do without damaging the black plastic seal that you can see on the outside. But if it's biffed anyway, you don't have much to lose. Apart from that, you can bash the bearings out no problems, but you don't gain anything unless you've got new bearings to put in. And probably a new plastic cover.

DickBarton

Anyone got any more news on the new Pace BB? I fancy that as the grease port idea appeals…

foxyrider
    Free Member