Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Do I want a Raspberry Pi?
  • dogbert
    Free Member

What can you do with it? (or have I just answered my own question about wanting one?)

I’m learning programming at the moment and no-where near a wizz kid. Done some Visual Basic in the past. I work in IT support and all the developer guys are going on about it.

Got a birthday coming up and the wife hasn’t got a clue what to buy me

molgrips
    Free Member

You like the idea but you don’t really want one. You’ll get it, plug it in and go “wow!” then go “oh” as you realise it’s only of use to proper hardcode electronicky geeks for inclusion in some wider project.

If you want to program it, you could do the same with linux on your laptop or anything else, afaik.

If you want to program in general, there are much easier ways, depending on what you want to achieve.

xiphon
    Free Member

Have a read of this post from RPi forums :

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=7403&start=25

===============
    by Sloseph » Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:26 pm
    I’ve just ordered my Pi so thought I’d have a browse around the forums to see what people are doing

When I saw this thread I though ill chime in

I’ve ordered a Pi because after years of using other peoples badly made software and ranting about how I could do better I’m putting my money where my mouth is and giving it a go

The reason Im going for the Pi over using one of my current systems are

1. it’s a clean start

I’ve messed about with my other machines so much that any guide I try and follow I have to find a work around for something in it

2. It will give me focus

When I turn it on it will be because I want to spend some time sat at home trying to learn, not just booting up the laptop and looking at cat videos on YouTube then thinking hey ill try a bit of programming for 5 minutes

3. no one else is going to suffer while Im using it