Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Diagnose my oven fault
  • chrishc777
    Free Member

Exciting I know..

I have an electric oven, my landlord recently put in a new consumer unit and now my oven trips the house out as it is seeing a fault with the oven. The electrician thinks it’s most likely with the element, I’ve removed the lightbulb to eliminate that and it still trips

I’m not an electrician but vaguely know my way around a multimeter so I’ve tested the element and it has continuity, and a resistivity of around 40ohms which seems about right.

Any help greatly appreciated

Gary_M
    Free Member

The electrician thinks it’s most likely with the element

Could the electrician not have tested it?

Anyway, disconnect element, turn on oven, see what happens.

avdave2

Our’s caused a trip shortly before the element then packed up so as above try disconnecting once you have made everything safe 🙂

Most can be accessed from the front, I ended uo doing two in ours about a month apart and it’s been very carefully designed so you have to pull the whole thing out 🙁

chrishc777
    Free Member

I did want to try that but wasn’t keen on the live wires hanging about! I suppose it’ll be fine if I stick some electric tape on there?

Gary_M
    Free Member

I did want to try that but wasn’t keen on the live wires hanging about! I suppose it’ll be fine if I stick some electric tape on there?

the wires to the element will be crimped so just make sure they’re apart and not touching the oven casing. They generally stay in the same position when you unplug them.

finishthat
    Free Member

new elements are incredibly cheap – like £10 – so worth replacing

nixie

Your oven or your landlords? Their oven their problem.

nickjb
    Free Member

Does sound like the element. They often go wrong by losing electrical insulation. They are also very easy to replace.

Cougar

What’s the rating of the consumer unit breaker it’s attached to?