Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 61 total)
  • Design/illustration apps for iPad
  • robdob
    Free Member

My wife is starting back at being an illustrator/fine art designer. I bought her an iPad for christmas as it seems that’s how people show their work off rather than the A1 portfolios she currently has.

I know there are the Adobe apps – which ones are worth having? Any other ideas of apps/ways to work on the iPad that you can suggest? She really is an IT novice so the easier to use the better. I don’t mind paying for quality apps BTW.

binners

Adobe Illustrator has been the benchmark for years on desktops. I’ve not used the iPad version (illustrator Draw) but I suspect that’s the best place to start if you’re taking it seriously. It’s very intuitive.

What kind of stuff does she do rob. Always like to see good illustrations

King-ocelot
    Free Member

Hello I’m an illustrator too, well trained in fine art but working as an illustrator/graphic designer. Adobe illustrator on desktop is a must ( Corel draw is good, better than some give it credit for) the iPad version of illustrator is good but I find it more of a side tool to the desktop version. If she’s an IT novice I recomend getting to grips with illustrator and indesign, all my clients thee days want PDF files rather than hand drawn things. If you want to pick my brain on the industry and agencies please feel free to do so.

Edit: the most recent illustrator on CC is the easiest version yet to learn.

GHill

I quite like Pixelmator, but I’m no pro.

CountZero

Inkpad, Paper, and Penultimate.

binners