Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Decent savings accounts – Teach somebody rubbish with money to be sensible!
  • handyman153
    Free Member

Evening STW.

My partner and I are now in a situation where we can afford to put some money into to one side. Possibly for a house deposit at some point.

We don’t think we will need to touch this cash anytime soon, meaning it can be hidden away somewhere.

After the normal googling and research, I think I have 2 options at the top of my list –

1 – Find a decent Fixed Rate Bond account, 2.07% seems to be the best I can find at the moment. This is with ‘Oak North Bank’, I’ve never heard of them, but is that a bad thing?

2 – I have been reading about peer-peer loans, which sound interesting.
    Some websites claiming up to 12% return p.a
    But this is raising alarm bells, is it risky? Do any of you do it?

Or should I be looking at something else?

Forgive the fact I am a novice at this.. I’ve never really been in a position to save money before, and want to try and do it correctly, and in the best way possible.

Thanks all.
    J

garage-dweller

What you have to remember with any kind of investment/savings return is you don’t get something for nothing.

Higher (potential return) = higher risk and potentially risk to the underlying capital and not just the interest.

If you want better than savings rate returns then you want to get some proper (FCA regulated) advice especially if you are not a “sophisticated” saver.

Trimix
    Free Member

Dont bother saving if you still have loans / mortgage.

Dont use a peer to peer investment.

A pension is tax efficient, other than that what are you saving for.

If your saving to buy something just buy it with a zero % credit card.

Inflation is 2+%.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    slackboy

have a look here for best saving rates.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/banking/