Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Dealing with builders – advice please (no its not gone pear shaped yet)
  • geoffj

Well we are moving out this weekend, the scaffolding is arriving and the work is starting. New roof, bedrooms, bathrooms, dormers etc.
    Estimated at 6 months work.
    My friendly local Polish builder is the only one who came back with a quote according to spec. Was under my estimated budget and he has good references.
    I’m a project manager in my day job, but any specific building project management tips would be appreciated.

So far I’ve got
    1. Don’t upset the neighbours
    2. Don’t upset the builder
    3. Don’t fall out with the builder

Gooner
    Free Member

Try not to make any unnecessary changes once the builder has started
    Make it clear that he must get your written approval (and if possible price agreement) before he carries out any works that are not included in the contract specification, drawings etc.
    That way wont get any nasty shocks when the job has finished and he will know he is going to get paid

matt_outandabout

Keep communicating all the time.
    Be flexible – sh*t happens on these kind of projects.

phildowling
    Free Member

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Polish builder with good references you say?

You’ve started very well, IMO. The Poles and Eastern Europeans work a lot harder then the British do in general.

ricochet_rob
    Free Member

As said, Keep a very close eye on any changes, no matter how small it seems. Get any changes you are happy with confirmed in writing.

Lots of tea and bacon butties always help

Richie_B

Unless its absolutely necessary don’t alter the spec or design (and if you have to get cost time implications in writing before you agree)
    If possible get the builder to give you a programme of works so you have a better idea if things are slipping. Try and keep on friendly terms because he is more likely to let slip if things are slipping/going astray that way.