Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Cyclocross bike for under £1000
  • kingteeb
    Free Member

I’m new to taking biking more seriously. I’ve always had bikes, but only ever cheap mountain bikes. I want something that I can at least reasonably comfortably join friends who have road bikes, but will also give me the flexibility to go on trails and is something I can ride hassle free throughout the year. So I have found myself looking into cyclocross bikes. I’ve been doing a lot of searching around and was just wondering if people could give me some advice on what I can get for £1000 or under. What should I be looking at?

Thanks

househusband

Hi kingteeb – welcome to the forum.

This is a subject that has come up regularly here. Do a search on ‘cx’ and ‘cyclocross’ bikes in the title BUT there has also been loads of threads containing discussion (I know – as I’ve participated!) on cx bikes – they may not be obvious;

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/kinesis-pro6-for-1080-anything-better

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/2015-giant-tcx-slr-mutterings

Pinnacle Arkose Three (jameso to the forum please)

Alternatively just look at the posts to which Jamie has contributed or started! His selection of cyclocross bike has been an involved, drawn-out, emotional and sensitive issue – but I *think* we might actually be close to a decision… 8)

Jamie
    Free Member

cloudnine
    Free Member

Jamie.. what bike have you got/ now getting? Ive lost track

househusband

Jamie.. what bike have you got/ now getting? Ive lost track

(Winks and taps side of nose…)

kingteeb
    Free Member

Thank a lot for the links househusband! I’ll get reading 🙂

m360
    Free Member

If you don’t need a cyclocross bike then a road bike is a cheaper/more available option, with better specs for the money. CX seems to command a premium.