Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Cycle touring on your tod…carrying a lock??
  • DrP

Righto I’m taking a few days off at the end of the month to cycle (most) of NCN 2; pretty much riding from Plymouth to Brighon.
    I’ve got the train ticket booked, memory map plotted out, and figuring out how LITTLE I can get away with carrying!

However, I’ve never done a little tour before, and wondered if it’s sensible/the done thing to carry a lock?
    It might be a bit pointless tying £2k worth of metal with a lightweight lock, no? If so – what do people do when they pop into a shop/pub/loo….?

Also, anyone live in/near Plymouth or Exmouth with suggestions of good bivvy spots?!

Cheers

DrP

Yak

Would have thought that a reasonable lightweight cable lock would make the difference for shop/loo stops, so I would take one. Last time I toured (a long time ago) that’s all I took. Didn’t want the weight of a massive lock and wasn’t intending to go off for long periods of time away from the bike.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Never bother.

Just cross shift the gears without pedaling so its incredibly difficult to ride away without busting their nuts

If its a really dodgy looking area i might take out the front skewar and take it with me.

Doesnt help if the load it into a van but given its unlikely to be out of sight its never worried me.

scotroutes

If it’s just for popping in to shops etc then a lightweight cable lock will be fine. I usually make a judgement based on where I am likely to stop (e.g. Highlands of Scotland I’d not bother).

For the actual bivvying – if you’re somewhere your bike is likely to be stolen then it’s not the best place for a bivvy.

mudshark
    Free Member

I took a D lock and cable lock on my touring trips as figured they don’t take up much space in the panniers and I was carrying so much weight anyway. Did not want my bike stolen as it would rather spoil things and didn’t know how safe a place I could find to keep it at night.

DrP