Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • CX Tubs – Dugast vs Challenge question.
  • Bream
    Free Member

Does anyone have any real experience of running Dugast CX tubs on anything but race wheels? I’m considering them but I’m slightly worried they are race only tires and I want something that can cope with both race and training.

For some reason my gut feel is that something like the Challenge Griffo 33 would be more suitable; but I’ve no actual experience in owning either?

Or what about FMB or Vittoria?

Next question is to glue or tape, but that seems to be a never ending question although the new Vittoria Magic Mastik seems very intersting….

Adam_Buckland
    Free Member

I’ve ‘raced’ both and whilst they both fantastic I don’t think I’d use either for training – although I haven’t got any evidence to back this up but they just feel a little too light weight/fragile for the rough and tough off any old surface training (assuming that’s what you mean by training). If you’re fixed on tubs for training some of the lower TPI ones may fair better, Specialized tracer/terra spring to mind – both fully vulcanised, lower TPI and still good treads but not quite to supple.

As for fixing, always Mastik One and Belgian tape (not Tufo etc) here but I’ve not tried or seen any CX reviews for Magic Mastik – it may be great.

bikebouy
    Free Member

How good are you?

Serious q that.

Only going to make the very slightest difference in all honesty in both brands, more mental than actual.

For me, Griffos all the way..

Someone else will have another opinion..

LS
    Free Member

I train on tubeless in the Peak District and every time I really bottom out onto the rim or graze the side of a great big rock, the first thing I think is ‘glad I didn’t wreck a tub on that’.
    There’s no way I’d run nice tubs like Dugasts or FMB for training. Tufos or Clements maybe but training is where tubeless has its advantages.

Rorschach
    Free Member