Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • CV advice
  • cat69uk
    Free Member

Looking at getting my CV freshened up for 2017. No surprise I work in IT 🙂 LinkedIn shows some great looking graphic based CVs, bit like Sky Cycling! These are probably not appropriate for sales, but do want something more modern. Any advice or links to good templates to get me started. Thanks.

IHN

There’s no need for CVs to be gimmicky, in fact they’ll probably put people off (unless you’re working in an area where gimmicks are seen as cool, like UX design).

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Anywhere big and CV will elbe vetted by the witches of eastwick in hr. Get the point across and do it in the interview (says a bloke who’s not used a CV for 10 years)

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

No idea, but I’m 90% certain most companies screen them with software, some don’t even attempt to hide this fact (and the fact that it’s rubbish) by asking you to submit one, then on the next step using it to badly auto populate a form which turns your nicely formatted CV with bullet points into a gargled mess.

That and automated rejection e-mails that arrive by return server ping.

Spoon, redundant since July and bitter about the whole process.

gobuchul
    Free Member

2 pages and no BS.

Unless you are 16 then employers don’t care about your GCSE results.

They don’t care if you ride a mountain bike either.

Just get the key info across, work experience and professional qualifications that are appropriate for the position applied for.

nickjb
    Free Member

Some do. If you are applying to be part of a team then being a good fit is as important as skills and knowledge. Its a gamble but I think its well worth putting hobbies just need to be careful how you phrase it.

BigButSlimmerBloke
    Free Member

maybe not, but having interests beyond “Watching TV” (which someone did put on a CV I got) shows a more rounded life, which probably makes you a bit more able to deal with the unexpected.