Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Credit cards – educate a noob
  • ossify

Hoping to buy a new bike soon but dropping £1000 on it is unfortunately out of the question… paying something each month is manageable though.

I have no experience with credit cards, tell me if this example is feasible:

I can get a 2 year 0% on purchases card. There’s also 2 year 0% balance transfer cards… can this be used to effectively get a 4 year interest free loan, by getting and moving to the second card near the end of the first one?

It seems like a simple thing but I can’t help thinking it’s potentially a stupid idea :p

I understand being a card tart can hurt my credit rating but I wouldn’t be jumping cards more than the once.

Sundayjumper

There’s usually a fee on balance transfers. Probably cheap but do check. And obviously it still needs to be available in two years’ time when your 0% on purchases runs out !

I’d be a bit worried that you’re asking about borrowing £1k over four years though. Better to get it cleared in full before the first 2yr period IMO.

theotherjonv

In theory yes – but who’s to say that there will be 0% cards available to you at the end of the first period (I’ve not been caught yet). And secondly, there’s usually a transfer fee – currently most are at 2.9% so no great shakes but there will be more to pay than you owe one way or another.

Do bear in mind you have to make repayments on the CC either way – usually 5% of the o/s balance or £5 or 10, whichever is higher.

So – rough example. If you get £1000 on a 0% 2 year purchase card and then don’t use it again, then you’ll have to pay back £50 / month initially which will drop every month as your debt gets lower. Back of an envelope means you’ll have paid off about £800 in 24mo so by the end of the 0% rate you’ll only have £200 to refinance or pay off.