Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Crashed again – need some protection advice
  • gc1066
    Free Member

5 years ago I managed to fracture multiple vertebrae (and bash lots of other stuff) after the worlds most unspectacular fall off my bike. It took a long time to walk again never mind ride.

Roll forwards to last week and hey presto off we go again, just a detached clavicle (and perhaps cracked C3) but as I was laying there waiting for the ambulance some nasty thoughts went through my head and this time it has left me seriously concerned.

So it’s time to wear some armour – even for everyday stuff – I can’t tempt fate again because sooner or later I’m going to get seriously hurt.

I will no longer be riding down the nasty stuff, but I need some sort of lightweight compression vest with shoulder and spine protection that I can ride in everyday – even if just going for a 5 mile spin around the Cheshire lanes.

I have no experience of wearing this stuff…I’m open to suggestions (as long as they don’t include stopping cycling!).

Also my lid is going to need replacing to…am looking at POC stuff this morning on Chain Reaction – any opinions?

Note to self…from now on only crash onto soft stuff ‘cos rocks are hard and pointy.

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

Have you thought about a skills course, will do more to protect you

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Also my lid is going to need replacing to…am looking at POC stuff this morning on Chain Reaction – any opinions?

Try them on, I was in between sizes so it was no good for me.

What are you trying to protect with this light weight armour?
    http://www.wiggle.com.au/sixsixone-sub-gear-short-sleeve-shirt-armour/?lang=au&curr=AUD&dest=27&utm_source=pla&utm_medium=base&utm_campaign=au&kpid=5360612570
    This sort of thing probably won’t do you much good in a serious situation.

LardLover
    Free Member

I ride occasionally with a guy that wears a full face helmet. Nothing unusual with that I hear you say.