• This topic has 23 replies, 16 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by br.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Cracked steerer Fox 36
  • chris36860
    Free Member

Help please guys, I’m in the Alps and today Started getting a odd creaking from the headset. Nothing major but it started to get worse so cam off the mountain a little early. Have just removed the fork to find a 1.5 inch crack in the steerer tube starting from the top.

So, I’m just about to drill a small hole at the bottom of the crack to stop it increasing, but is it safe to ride? The stem will keep the crack closed and the head Dr will keep it from folding in.

Is the crack weld able or is it new uppers? New upper last year via MoJo so don’t really want to spend more on the fork!

Or do I buy some new ones here for a very inflated price??

HELP

mindmap3
    Free Member

I’m no expert, but I’m not sure that I’d fancy riding them like that. How much longer are you out there for? I guess you could try the drill technique and keep an eye on the crack.

Trouble is that I’d be too tight to pay RRP / inflated Alps price for a new pair of forks either.

chris36860
    Free Member

Day 2 out or 7 so not good. New fork don’t massively bother me but the prices are pretty high here. If they fail, they will fail catastrofically and result in instant death!! Also, if I drill the hole and hope for the best, I’ll ride like Miss Daisy for the rest of the week worrying about it!

I_Ache
    Free Member

If you have the money for a new fork could you order some from CRC and have them delivered to you there? Or are you not there for long enough for that to be viable?

If you can’t do the above I would look for a local welder and have a repair attempted. Next time don’t do your stem up so tightly.

wobbliscott
    Free Member