Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Counter/reception desk contruction.
  • elzorillo
    Free Member

I’m in the situation where i have to build a reception desk for my daughter..

I’m pretty good with wood, built staircases etc.. but never worked with this kind of material.. I dont even know what it’s made of :/

Anyone give me any pointers please on the material and any tips on how it could be constructed?

136stu
    Free Member
    aldo56
    Free Member

Looks like a Corian or some other type of solid surface desk; very expensive material and hard to work with. Corian is Duponts version of a polymer sheet material.

Genrally you build a ply or MDF subframe and clad it in the thinnest Corian you can get away with. It comes in various sheet thicknesses. Corners can be rounded off etc.

These are then bonded together with a special filler and the joints sanded so they are no longer visable.

I’m a furniture designer but my place outsources any Corian work as it’s quite a specalist thing.

If your wanting a cheap / easy desk, get some MFC sheets from Egger or Kronospan and use 2mm ABS edging tape to finish the edges. You can double up the 18mm sheets and use a thicker edging tape to create worktop thickness panels. You wont get the seemless finish that Corian gives but it’ll be around 25% of the cost.

elzorillo
    Free Member

Thanks for the replies.. I did expect I’d have to make a wooden subframe. Just wondered what it was clad in and how they got the edges so good..

Thanks again

aldo56
    Free Member

It is also possible to use sheets of laminate bonded onto a subframe but you are limited by the sheet size and getting seemless edges like the photo above is very time consuming.

elzorillo
    Free Member

Shoot me down here if it’s a stupid idea.. but what about constructing it in ply then (now here’s the crazy bit).. laminating it by bonding high gloss white lino?

maccruiskeen

high gloss white lino?