Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Cotic Bfe… weight and comfortable??
  • mccett
    Free Member

Ive been riding a Cove Handjob, Foreplay MX and Hustler for a couple years now and fancy getting rid of the full sus frame (orange, 17.5″, RP23, 2007 model if anyones interested…) for another steel hardtail that can take a hammering. As Cove dont make a hardcore steel frame other than the Sanchez (which i’ve already owned too) i’ve settled on a BFe.
    Couple questions…
    Is a sub 28lb Bfe possible with Pike airs, XM819 wheels on Hopes and Middleburn XT drive train with decent finishing kit (all ripped off the Hustler)? (ive no idea how much my hustler weighs so cant do the maths on comparable frame weights sorry)

Is it comfortable for all day rides as well as nailing myself into trees?

What sort of size? Im 5’10” and think the small would be spot on going by the top tube length.

I’ve poured over the Cotic site for info and just need a few first hand accounts now to convince me to sack off the full sus for good.
    Thanks

Swiftacular
    Free Member

Just got rid of my BFe for a change, mine was a little long for me, great for high speed downhill, but i didnt think as manoueverable as some of my other bikes, not easy to pop up, very long wheelbase. Used it for everything for 9 months or so tho and its very capable, but not sure on sub-28lb build with that kit though. (Although i did run 2.5″ tyres, 321’s and Wotans). Did find mine quite comfortable, even with a thomson post.

cy

Can’t really comment on handling as I’m quite enormously biased, but an all up weight of around 28lbs with that kit would be easily doable. Paul’s Soul has that kind of thing on it and weighs under 27lbs, so as a BFe is 1lb more than a Soul I think you’ll be in the game. Small would be spot on for larking about at your height.

cy