Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Contractors – an ethics question
  • IHN

I’m a contractor. One of the other contractors I work with is, in my (and not only my) opinion, useless. However, due to a huge turnover in management (I’ve reported to six different people in six months) this has gone unnoticed by the powers that be.

His contract will be up for renewal soon. If he stays on, he’ll doubtless continue to be useless, and the rest of us will continue to pick up the slack/flack.

Do I suggest to the (current) manager that his contract is not renewed and they get someone else?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

your a contractor, you get paid to achieve a task not be part of a team unless you are a disguised employee and flouting the IR35 game 😉 careful what you say.
    Whats your score? http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/ir35/guidance.pdf

geoffj

your a contractor, you get paid to achieve a task not be part of a team

Unlikely

If the work you are doing is different to the work you are being contracted to do then you need a discussion with your boss and where necessary renegotiate your terms accordingly. There is no mileage in commenting on other contractors performance IME.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    binners

Surely the one massive major benefit of freelancing/contracting is that you don’t have to give a flying **** about all this kind of nonsense?

mudshark
    Free Member

Why do you pick up his slack?

At most I’d drop subtle hints but never have said anything.

nickjb
    Free Member

he’ll doubtless continue to be useless, and the rest of us will continue to pick up the slack

… and get paid for it. Is that the ethical dilemma? If he stays you get more money, if goes the company get more work for its money. TBH I’d mention it but not push the point

toby1

Sounds like he is accurately fulfilling the role of ‘contractor’ and you are the one doing it wrong!

😉