Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 56 total)
  • Contact patch of 650b tyre
  • cbmotorsport
    Free Member

Apologies for yet another wheel size related post, please post your ‘Oh no, not again, please make it stop’ posts below, if you feel the need. But…

I picked up one of the MTB magazines in a supermarket the other day and while not buying it, I read a review on a tyre which wasn’t overly favourable. At the end of the review they stated that ‘reports on these tyres in 650b and 29″ guise are more positive due to the extra grip offered by the larger contact patch’.

I was fairly gobsmacked at the utter twaddle I was reading, I’m no maths expert, but the size of the contact patch on a 650b can’t be large enough over a 26″ to offer any noticeable difference?

roverpig

The size of the contact patch has more to do with the pressure in the tyre (and your weight) than the diameter of the wheel. If the contact patch is larger with a 650b or 29er then it’s most likely to be either due to the bike being heavier or the tyre pressures being lower.

Now contact patch shape; that’s a different matter.

cbmotorsport
    Free Member

roverpig – Member

The size of the contact patch has more to do with the pressure in the tyre (and your weight) than the diameter of the wheel. If the contact patch is larger with a 650b or 29er then it’s most likely to be either due to the bike being heavier or the tyre pressures being lower.

My thoughts exactly, which is why the article was a load of crap.

sheck

MTB magazine in “utter twaddle” shocker…

mrmo
    Free Member

which between 26 and 650b is barely different because they are so close in size.

I wonder what next seasons must have will be and what stadard will be ditched?

Maybe super-oversized taper headsets, 22mm through axles, and 137mm of front end travel, think of the extra stiffness, that 16% less deflection* riding through a rock garden composed of 9.8″ baby heads.