Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Confused about replacing dead batteries?
  • blader1611
    Free Member

I have a nitefighter bt21 which has developed 2 dead cells in the pack. I want to replace these as its far cheaper than buying a new pack but i am confused about the rating of the batteries. The sticker on the pack says 7.4v,5200mah,li-ion 18650 batteries. When i look at one of the batteries it says 2600mah, four of these dont equate to 5200mah so is this info referring to 2 cells on the assumption this is 2 x 2 cell packs put in series. What size of individual battery do i need to buy and any links to good sources would be a massive help? Thanks

wwaswas

I’m not an expert but I always understood you had to try and ‘balance’ cells to avoid issues – mixing old and new seems to go against that?

nickjb
    Free Member

You’ll need four new cells as mix and match won’t work. It will be a series-parallel arrangement with two cells in series then in parallel with another two cells. Problem is they are likely to be welded so you need to buy cells with solder tabs which will limit your options for cell availability. Might be easier to buy a battery case (about £10 from ebay or dx) then you can fit whatever cells you like and they will be easy to swap in the future.

blader1611
    Free Member

Nickjb – that sounds pretty much like what i am seeing. Any chance of a link to case so i know what i am looking for?

I never considered mix and match being a problem if i got the same rated batteries. I will look in to changing all four then i guess, makes sense i suppose as who is to say the other cells wont soon die on me as well.

nickjb
    Free Member

This the case I have: http://www.gearbest.com/diy-parts-and-tools/pp_119294.html

You can also get them from ebay from a UK seller.