Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Collective opinion on AVG anti virus.
  • Davesport

I’ve been using this for several years now & functionally it’s never let me down. My ancient lappy has a 1.73 Ghz Pentium processor & 504 meg’s of ram & struggles at times. I run AVG, Malaware & CCleaner on a regular basis.

Anyone care to comment on how big a drain on resources AVG is compared to Avast or other AV apps.

TIA Dave.

clubber
    Free Member

I changed to mse a year or so ago on the advice of techy guys in my IT dept. No problems at all.

http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

oneoneoneone
    Free Member

i use AVG, and i have never had a problem, always finds bugs etc.

Dino
    Free Member

I use it as well no probs, a couple of mates usse the Microsoft one as mentioned above.

sweepy
    Free Member

I used it for years, then they updated it and it took a downturn so I switched to avast

DezB
    Free Member

All ok for my home machines.

Drac

I used it for awhile but found it intrusive at times. So switched to avast that sits quietly working hard in the background.

bigyinn
    Free Member

I used to use it all the time, but its gradually got prettier and bloatier over the years, so changed it for F Secure (through work)
    I gather there was an update released for it a couple of weeks ago which put 64bit Win 7 machines into a loop which caused quite a few issues.

donsimon
    Free Member

I moved from AVG to Avast as the computer always ran slower with AVG. No problems with Avast.

Sits back and waits for the next “what free anti-virus thread”.

monkey_boy
    Free Member

ive dealt with various av in the office…

AVG was good until version 11, it now hogs the pc’s

prettier and bloatier over the years

sums it up in a nutshell

MS Essentials is ok but again hogs the pc’s when it updates.

as above the best ive found so far is AVAST, it has handy features like turning off the ‘animated’ taskbar icon etc.

Del