Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Col de Granon to Briancon route advice?
  • OrmanCheep
    Free Member

Hi all,
    Have any of you done the route described on THIS LINK From Dol du Granon to Briancon?

I am planning a bike ride for a stag do, and wondered how long the route would be, and if it would be generally suitable for people who can ride bikes, but don’t tend to as a rule.

Cheers in advance,
    Orm

Marko

Yes.

We did it as a shuttle run from Briancon.

No great technical difficulties, but the consequences of a mistake on some sections will involve a serious tumble down the hillside. The final descent into Briancon is steep with loads of hairpins to negotiate – all possible with a bit of luck or skill.

It took our mixed group of competent bikers a couple of hours or so.
    Not sure I’d take a complete beginner on that route, but if you can ride the Red routes at a Trail centre you’ll be fine.

I’ll dig out a couple of pictures if I can find them.
    Hth
    Marko

OrmanCheep
    Free Member

thanks Marko. Just the ticket!

2orangey4crows

I’ve done it a couple of times. It’s a lovely route, bit techy and steep in places, but as said above, nothing you wouldn’t find at a trail centre. Some of the surface is quite loose and off camber, so don’t grab your brakes!

Couple of hours is about right, and it’s a nice steady down the whole way.

Enjoy!

defaultslipper
    Free Member

Yes, i did it with one of the Pete’s in that link- he was the brother in law of a good friend and wrote the article that was in issue 36 of stw. Pete died a few years ago but they were just about the best weeks of riding I’ve done.