Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • coffee machine
  • voodoo_chile

What do you recommend ?
    Don’t want the pod type taste terrible can you recommend a beginners model/brand ..total newbie

bruneep

budget?

Amos
    Free Member

Gaggia Classic is a great starting point, make sure you get some good quality coffee, ground by a proper coffee emporium if you have one locally or buy the best grinder you can afford and buy beans, it makes a difference.
    Took me around a 2 weeks to pull a decent espresso and getting better all the time. It’s a black art!

TheFlyingOx

DeLonghi 330somethingorother

£75 on eBay. We had one at work, abused it relentlesly (probably 50 double espressos a day for 12 months straight) and it’s been superb.
    I now have it at home, and it’s still going strong.

Any more money and you’re paying for name/looks.

voodoo_chile

Ox seen them on there

wobbliscott
    Free Member

Anything with a 15bar pump. The expensive ones are not better than the cheaper ones so save your money for decent coffee. The coffee provides the flavour not the machine. I’ve done a back to back with my dad’s expensive Gaggia and my cheap Krups and the resulting espressos were identical.

Hoff

Had a look at quite a few & ended up with one of these. Had it about 6-months & can’t fault it

Gaggia Carezza

NZCol

Rocket

saladdodger
    Free Member

I had a Gaggia Classic for 8 years and it was worth every penny once I got a decent grinder and reset the OPV (over pressurisation valve) to 9 bar.
    be warned though it lead to me getting one of these
    http://www.wogancoffee.co.uk/domestic-espresso

Bazz

My DeLonghi only lasted three months before going pop (literally), and that was only making one or two espresso’s a day, so I’m afraid I couldn’t recommend one of those, still looking for a replacement now, and will probably go Gaggia.

chewkw
    Free Member

Gaggia Classic all the way. Bought it nearly 8-9 years ago for £200.