• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Coding/Computer Programming for kids
  • DrNickRiviera
    Free Member

Hi,

Trying to help my son get into computer programming but I’m a total novice. Can anyone help point me in the direction of some useful websites?

Thanks

Chris

molgrips
    Free Member

Roblox.

Try following their tutorials.

scrumfled
    Free Member

How old is he… whats his current ability/exposure….what sort of things interest him?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    spot
    Free Member

Scratch and/or python
    Carol vorderman has a book: coding for kids (I think its called)

scholarsgate
    Free Member

Start from scratch…

https://scratch.mit.edu/

Minecraft Raspberry Pi edition
    You can program minecraft with python.
    https://www.raspberrypi.org/learning/getting-started-with-minecraft-pi/

TheBrick
    Free Member

Skratch is the usual suggestion, but I would leave it to him as didn’t is horrible if you are not interested and easy to learn if you are.

Cougar

Raspberry Pi / Scratch.

Also, a bag of LEDs.

flaps
    Free Member

Code.org Hour of code’s a great place to start, I’d then go to Kodu. I’ve never been keen on Scratch.

That Voderman book’s great for an intro to Python, only costs £5 too.

cheekymonkey888
    Free Member

How old is your son? I’ve started ours on Kano. You can download the open source OS and stick it in a raspberry PI. Good UI and good intro to programming, putting a computer together and making it do stuff

sillysilly
    Free Member

http://kano.me/ For 6+ – Get to play with simple code and hardware for both adults and kids.

GrahamS

Depends on his age.

Scratch or ScratchJr are good starts. Lots of stuff online for them and available on lots of platforms including web-based, tablet apps, Raspberry Pi.

Other ideas: the LightBot app, Code-a-pilla, MiRobot, Arduino,

DrNickRiviera