Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Coast to Coast by mountain bike – advice
  • huwtindall
    Free Member

First post. Woot.

In brief I am looking for advice on a bike and other equipment I should purchase for a planned bike journey along the famous Coast to Coast walk in England.

A good mate and mountain bike enthusiast suggest I start here for advice.

As a bit of background I am pretty amateur when it comes to cycling. I’ve done a few triathlons, bike leg always my weakest, and a dozen or so mountain bike weekends and day trips in places from Australia to Bolivia, the USA and Guatemala. So all in all I’m pretty new to this. I’ll probably ride the route with my mate who referred me to single track but I’m going to have to do the majority of training on my pat malone.

So then. Any advice for starting out? In particular I am looking for some info on the type of bike I should buy to get me started. I don’t mind buying second hand. I just need something to train on and that will get me over the 200 odd miles of route.

Cheers
    Huw

user-removed
    Free Member

Folk do it on top end road bikes. They do it on shonky old shed bikes. They do it on hybrids, tricycles, retro-mtbs and I’m almost certain it’s been done on a unicycle.

Training really not required unless you plan to do it in a day.

That said, I do have a singlespeed Cannondale for sale which would be completely unsuitable. PM me for details.

paulosoxo
    Free Member

User removed, I think your mistaking the Whitehaven to Sunderland route with the St Bees to Robin Hoods Bay.

Huwtindal, which one are you doing?

StuE
    Free Member
    AngusWells

If you are doing the one that runs from St Bees to Robin Hoods Bay, which is the one that most closely follows the Wainwright walk, then you are in for a good initiation into mountain biking.